Hello All!

Life has been pretty eventful these past couple of weeks, challenging and uplifting my mind, body, and spirit.

For those of you who may not know, I don’t just sing, I spend most of my waking hours as a Scientific Sales Professional. I provide solutions to Analytical Chemistry Labs for nano-scale separations of polar or charged molecules by the technique called Capillary Electrophoresis. (To learn more, go to http://www.sciex.com or e-mail me and I’d be happy to explain further!)

I’ve been employed at this company for just over a year and like any new sales position I’ve had, it has taken a lot of time and effort to learn the ropes. Out of nearly eleven years of being in this field, this past year was one of my best. Recently, at the National Sales meeting in Las Vegas, I was recognized as the top performer on my team, a proud moment for me!

It made me reflect on what I do to be successful in my job. It also made me think about why my mentor who has been a sales professional for nearly three decades consistently does well. One thing we both have in common, besides a strong work ethic and persistence, is we are both performing artists!  He plays guitar and has been performing in a band for many years.

I truly believe that sales is part art and part science and having a background in music and theatre has surely helped me in this profession. I also really love to help people, which has always  been a driving force for me.

nsm-award-jan-2017

(Receiving my award, from my boss, my boss’s boss, my boss’s boss’s boss, and my boss’s boss’s boss’s boss!)

When I was at my National Sales Meeting, I had very little time to prepare for the George Michael Tribute concert I mentioned in my last post (hope you were paying attention!) Meetings were all day and socializing with colleagues was all night, so I ended up using spare minutes the following weekend before the show (in between throwing my sister’s baby shower -yay, I’m going to be an Aunty!) to prepare.

As I wrote down the lyrics of my song, “Kissing A Fool,” a method I use to help me memorize, I was amazed. Not only was George Michael a powerful singer, he was a profound writer. I understood why he was so beloved by his fans.

It was an honor to pay tribute to this great artist after an enduring work week and wonderful to be among the most talented musicians and vocalists of Los Angeles (no exaggeration!) Please free to watch my performance here:

the-federal-jan-2017

(Intently watching Janice Freeman, an amazing vocalist, at the George Michael Tribute.  Photo Credit: Alton Arnold)

Thanks for tuning in and learning about Shalini the Artist and Science-Lover!

P.S. My next gig will be on Valentine’s Day singing for the elderly -one of my favorite types of audiences.  I’m looking forward to spreading a little love through music 🙂

Leave a Reply

